Happy Hari Raya

On the weekend my family and I went to a family friend’s place for Hari Raya. Hari Raya is like the Muslim version of Chinese New Year. My understanding of it is it celebrates the end of Ramadan. Now Ramadan is a month of fasting, so they fast from dawn to dusk. I think it can get a bit extreme to the point where they don’t swallow their saliva or other things as well. I remember one of my university friends did the month of Ramadan because he is Muslim and he had conjunctivitis and was exempted from Ramadan because he had to take medication for it. Nice piece of info I have in my head πŸ˜›

Anyways, we went to our family friend’s place for an open house. Which kinda means that they open their house whole day for their friends to come and celebrate. I think last year we went I made chocolate cupcakes with coffee buttercream shaped as roses. This year, because I have mastered my macarons, I made macarons for them instead ^_^ I think I have a borderline obsession with macarons. This week for instance if my blood count is high ie I’m not too tired from work, I will try to make macarons for the Mooncake festival which is next week, according to my mum πŸ™‚ I can tell you another interesting story about the Mooncake festival. It is actually my favorite story of all time πŸ™‚ but I’ll leave that for another post πŸ™‚


So I decided this time to make pink macarons to differentiate the difference between the 4 flavors I was making. I had coffee buttercream, salted caramel, chocolate and strawberry. The coffee buttercream and salted caramel were in white macarons with the salted caramel having salted on the shells. And the chocolate and strawberry had pink shells with the chocolate one having chocolate drizzles on the shells πŸ˜› does that make sense?


I love their house, it’s very resort like and their kitchen is AMAZING and their fireplace is pretty awesome as well πŸ˜› the food wasn’t too bad, I’m not a big fan of curry, after living in Australia for most of my life my spice tolerance is extremely low, but I do like my wasabi :P. Their curry were in massive pots, it could feed 100+!!! I wonder how many people visited them!

Unfortunately, I think my stomach did not like the curry and the next morning I was suffering from what I now call it a “hangover without alcohol” 😦 Not great at all and I was so dehydrated all I had for the whole day was lemonade with hot water and salt 😦 At least I was well enough by nightfall to be ready for work the next day…yippee??

Anyways, this week my puppy is having a friend staying over for a couple of weeks. His name is Toby and he’s a sheep puppy. Not a sheepdog like a collie, but a dog that’s looks like a sheep and when he was younger made noises like a lamb as well :s I’m sure Bailey will enjoy his company πŸ™‚


xoxo
heart cupcakerist

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPad

Leave a Reply

